Good news (sort of): some chocolate is low carb

Love chocolate? Of course you do. I eat stacks of it on my cheat days – but I never pretend that the beautiful creamy milk chocolate I’m munching away on is good for me. In any quantity.

However there is a silver lining. Dark chocolate (at least 90% cocoa solids – I wouldn’t use any less than 95% cocoa solids) is actually acceptable to eat as part of a low/slow carb diet, as it has very little sugar and no dairy sourced ingredients.

It is also rather good for you, as the article states.

The kicker: most people will find chocolate with 95+% cocoa solids unpalatable.

To be honest, I’ve been quite enjoying my 99% block. But that’s probably because the rest of my food during the week is so boring.

This entry was posted in Diet and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Good news (sort of): some chocolate is low carb

  1. Pingback: Prevention.com and Biggest Loser – two birds, one stone? | harpooningwhales

Leave a Reply

