The other half of the pie…

…is tempting me from the fridge. Ahhh I’d love a bit of pie right now.

I have a massive rhubarb fetish. Not to mention autumn berries. In a pie.

But I’m not going to have any. It can keep till Saturday, when I can enjoy it without the guilt.

Incidently, weight-wise I’m not really much off track today compared to what I thought I might be.  So yesterdays splurge hopefully didn’t make much difference.

However, I hadn’t weighed myself the day before (annoyingly) so I can’t be certain. Normally when I break my low/slow carb diet – particularly if I do so in the evening – I lose no weight/fat in the following 24 hours.

And the other thing to note is that I haven’t measured my body fat percentage, which is what really counts. I can guarantee you I wouldn’t have lost any fat, when comparing Wednesday morning to Thursday morning.

I really should get me a electronic fat percentage reader…

Did I mention yesterday that with the pie I ate yesterday, I accompanied it with very generous portions of cream?

Well that cream would have helped negating any fat gain, in my opinion,  than not having had cream at all. I know, this goes 100% against the mainstream old fashioned (plebbish) media, or even your local health nurse. But here’s my reasoning:

Your aim with your food choices when on a slow/low carb diet is to maximise the percentage of fat and protein in what one puts into ones mouth. A mouthful of say, coke, has zero fat and zero protein and stacks of refined carbs – the ultimate in insulin spiking.  Whereas an egg just has fat and protein, equating to negligible effect on insulin.

Keep in mind pretty much all food – except for eggs and butter or cream – have carbs. For example the pecans I’m currently munching on are 6% carbs. However the ratio is overwhelmingly in favour of fat (and 10% protein) so pecans have little effect on insulin levels. So they don’t make me fat.

My delicious pie is pretty much just carbs. Adding good portion of cream changes this carb/fat/protein ratio for the better.

In summary, eating healthy fats (such as cream/butter) with your food is known to reduce the effect that other food may have on your insulin levels.

REMEMBER: what you consume is not what you become. Your body is far more complicated than that.

This entry was posted in Diet, Fatness and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

